Let Kids Be Kids

8231_1247302228518_1408308927_691556_4171920_nMy daughter, Sarah-Joy noticed a puddle with beautiful colors of blue, green, red and yellow swirled in it, as we strolled through a parking lot on our way back to the car.  She thought it was a rainbow caught right there on the pavement. I corrected her so she would know it was just an oil leak from a car.

Her response:

“Oh mommy, I wish you hadn’t told me that.”

So did I – as soon as I said it!

Later, driving home on a crystal clear evening, Sarah and I were the only ones awake. As we drove, I spotted a falling star cascading across a cloudless ink-black sky.  It was a rare and dazzling sight. Cresting the last hill on the highway close to our home, Sarah looked out at the landscape dotted with lights.

She excitedly told me:

“Look, Mommy, that must be where that falling star landed!”

House lights/ star lights – I wasn’t going to disillusion her.

I’d already made that mistake once!

 Sometimes we just need to leave well enough alone.

When they’re 15, 18, 21, they won’t believe their stuffed animals talk anymore, they will understand that daddy can’t actually “smell” McDonald’s french fries when he’s driving down the road, and they won’t think that stars land, or rainbows live in puddles.

Let kids be kids!

They grow up soon enough and so much of the fantasy of imagination is replaced by cold hard facts.

Leave a Reply

