Lost and Found

Squinting and hunched over my lap top was how my son found me this morning.  I was trying to make an entry into facebook before going out to our weekly breakfast.

This was today’s post:  “The trouble with being 65 and wearing glasses is you can’t remember where you took them off and you can’t see them while you’re looking. (I think that’s what I typed!)”

There’s this old saying that goes, “Of all the things I’ve lost, I miss my mind the most.”  Don’t you hate it when you tell someone that you’re looking for a lost item and they reply, “Well, where did you have it last?”  Come on —- LOST!

I have lost my car on a regular basis at the mall.  It’s constructed like a wheel with four main spokes coming out from a central hub.  At the end of each main spoke there is a large department store and each store has four entries, one into the mall itself and the other three lead to parking lots.  I can’t tell you how often I have walked out the wrong door and searched in vain for my car, only to finally find it was parked on the other side of the building.

When I was single, some hundred and fifty years ago, it was the custom for women to wear gloves when going out on a date. (You thought I was kidding about the hundred and fifty years didn’t you?)  Anyway, I was in a flurry one night trying to be ready when my date arrived, but searching in vain for my white gloves.  My mom gave me a confused look and just stared for a minute.  “Mom, can’t you please help me find them!” “You mean white, like the one you’re wearing?”     . . . . .      “Oh.”

Children, I hate to admit it, but I’ve lost each of my own children twice.  I have four, so if you do the math, eight times I’ve been through a parent’s worst nightmare of not being able to find my child.  Why God would entrust me with other people’s kids is a mystery. I never lost anyone else’s child though, just my own, at the beach, at the mall, at Hershey Park, at Friendlys Ice Cream Parlor.  Really, God is so good to me and watches over the details of my life in a most particular way, as He does for each of us.

I’m reminded of Jim Elliot, famous martyred missionary, who said, “He is no fool who gives what he can not keep, to gain what he can not lose.”  God is in the business of lost and found.  “We were lost in our trespasses and sin.”  But by His grace we have gained eternal life  through the death, burial and resurrection of His Son.  He paid the price we can’t pay, so that we can have eternal life that we can not lose, “…no man can pluck you out of His hand” not because of our righteousness, “all our righteousness is as filthy rags”, but because of His sinless perfection “For He hath made Him who knew no sin, to be sin for us, that we might be made the righteousness of God in Him” taking on our sin, past, present and future.  I have found a new and remarkable life in Christ, not without problems, but not without hope either. What a Savior!

One thought on “Lost and Found

Leave a Reply

