Fly birdie, FLY!

I feel like the bird in the nest that the mama bird thinks has been there too long – it’s time for flight baby!  There are only two options, fly or face plant.

I choose flight!

So many of you have been living in the blogosphere for ages while I’ve been cowering in my nest.  I need lots of advice in this area, and welcome your participation.  My friend Sarah Mae at sarahmae.com has been my cheerleader.  She regularly gets out her pompoms, her cheerleading skirt and puts her hair in a ponytail to jump up and down at the side of my nest to cheer me on. “Fly birdie, FLY! You can do it!”

According to the calendar, I’ve lived 65 years, but according to my head I’m about 39, give or take a year or two.  That in itself is an impossible feat I know, cause my oldest daughter will move on from 39 to the big 4-0 this year.  And my youngest daughter just entered her 31st year.  There are two “kids” in between, a son of 36 and another daughter who is 34.  So I guess I deserve all the white hair I’m wearing, but it does truly feel impossible.

If I was 39 for real, I’d have a three year old, a six year old, an 8 year old, and a 12 year old, and thrown in for good measure, eight more children who were loaned to me by God to try and have an impact for Him on their lives.

It was a busy household, filled with laughter, fun and tears.  Not a day went by without a smattering of each.  There were bikes and tikes all over the place, roller blades and skateboards abounded.  We enjoyed the company of many large families that only added to our own version of hoopla that we called “family”.

I’ve walked in your shoes, sometimes dragging my feet, sometimes running, but always moving.  Being a parent is hard work, being married is hard work too.  We’ll celebrate 45 years this summer.  I know that both parenting and marriage are tremendous blessings, but they don’t come without effort.  Each individual has to willingly contribute not 50-50, but 100-100 percent of their mind, will and emotions.

Join me, ask me, help me to be a worthy contributor to this sphere of living.  I really don’t want to do a face plant – it would waste of all my years of “Clinique” applications! I just have to keep reminding myself that ultimately, like the old song says, “His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.”  My flight is up to Him.

Leave a Reply

