Who’d make a crown of coal?

Dirty, dusty coal under extreme pressure and the skilled hands of a master craftsman becomes a diamond jewel to be mounted in a master’s crown – otherwise it’s just fuel for the furnace.

 

Just like us, though we don’t enjoy, or even like, the process of pain, the troubles in our lives tend to be the motivating factor that cause us to grow, to be crafted more into the image of Christ.  When we are partakers of His sufferings we reach up for comfort, assurance and encouragement.  He tells us in His Word  that we are to comfort one another with the comfort we’ve received from God.

 

Sometimes it’s helpful to know someone else has walked this trail and lived to tell the tale. That’s the goal of this blog, to come along side and be an encouragement to you in the nitty gritty of life, to let you know you’re of infinite value. Whatever your life situation,  wherever you are right now, it’s my hope and prayer that our visits will be sweet. That over time you’ll feel welcomed and at ease to share with me as well.  We’re all on this journey together.

 

My husband and I have been married for just under 44 years and have four happily married children, three girls and a boy.  They have blessed us with six grandchild, and two granddogs, who are the apples of the their grandparents’ eyes.  Seeing your children walk in Truth is one of life’s greatest joys.

 

Keep in mind though that I’m not just a baby-boomer, I’m a baby-blogger. Please bare with me on my learning curve. I certainly don’t claim to have all the answers, but can we agree to be in search of them together.  We have so much to learn from each other.  This side of glory we’re not going to be free of imperfections.  One day though, one day   we’ll  have a well crafted crown fitted with jewels to willingly cast at our Savior’s feet. Let’s walk together!

 

Think about it

 

Our meeting is not an accident, we’re here by design.

4 thoughts on “Who’d make a crown of coal?

  1. It has,been years since we’ve spoke but reading your blog it seems like yesterday. Time has gotten away from us and like you said “it was not an accident that we stumbled into one another. More later……..children calling

    Like

  2. Minutes slip into hours, and hours into days, months go by and all of a sudden it’s been years. The older I get, the faster it seems to go. How could you turn __, that’s how old I am, right? Not so much – but it’s what I feel like in my head, if only my body could catch up!

    Like

    1. I can’t believe that 40 is almost here either. It makes me try to savor every minute just like we used to savor every last bit of ice cream when we were kids, going to friendlys after church Sunday evening. Life is not always perfect, but I am blessed and grateful for what god has given to me and I look forward to seeing what’s next as well as enjoying today. More later……

      Like

  3. In a perfect world we’d probably still have problems. Adam and Eve still chose to have “just one more thing”. Not content with a whole garden, a literal paradise, they had to eat the one forbidden fruit. Savoring what we have is a good thing, the time with your family and friends, the fact that you have a job, a home, transportation. We’re pretty spoiled compared to most of the world, and yet we still want more. I’m thankful too, and learning this next step in my life – retirement.

    Like

Leave a Reply

